At a special call meeting of the Board of Supervisors, Alleghany County, Virginia held on Monday, March 4, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in the Alleghany County Governmental Complex, Covington, Virginia, thereof:

PRESENT:	
----------	--

Stephen A. Bennett, Chairman Cletus W. Nicely, Vice-Chairman Shannon P. Cox G. Matt Garten James M. Griffith Richard Lee Shull M. Joan Vannorsdall

and

Jonathan A. Lanford, County Administrator

## CALL TO ORDER:

The Chairman called the special call meeting to order.

## APPROVE RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE RESIGNATION OF THE CLIFTON FORGE WEST DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD MEMBER:

Mr. Bennett asked Ms. Vannorsdall to read the draft resolution included in the agenda packet.

Ms. Vannorsdall read the draft resolution.

On motion of Mr. Shull, seconded by Mr. Nicely, that the following resolution be adopted:

WHEREAS, Mr. Donnie T. A. M. Kern has failed to perform duties of a School Board member including Mr. Kern abstaining from voting on matters before the School Board and failing to participate in School Board meetings; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Kern submitted documents to the State Police, Auditor of Public Accounts, and State Inspector General on December 11, 2018 which contained unfounded and false allegations against the School Board and its employees which has been injurious to the school division and community as a whole; and

WHEREAS, it has been reported that Mr. Kern made offensive and inappropriate reference to special needs students;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Alleghany County Board of Supervisors request that Mr. Donnie T. A. M. Kern, Clifton Forge West District School Board Member, resign immediately from the Alleghany County School Board for the good of the County of Alleghany, its school division, and its citizens.

Unanimously adopted by the following roll call vote:

Shannon P. CoxYesG. Matt GartenYesJames M. GriffithYesRichard Lee ShullYesM. Joan VannorsdallYesCletus W. NicelyYesStephen A. BennettYes

## ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Bennett adjourned the meeting at 5:10 p.m.

Stephen A. Bennett Chairman